CISCO EXPERT – CCIE#23373

Ricardo Martins

CompTIA Linux+ and Project+

Posted by Ricardo Martins on July 26, 2009

Lately, I have been quite busy lately, studying, working, not having as much time as I wanted to write in my blog. I am also in the process of moving to a new job but it hasn’t been particularly easy. Most jobs I have applied to, you need CCIE, Linux, team leading experience and loads of networking experience in the pocket.
All in all, I say that Project management experience and networking designing skills is what the market is demanding now.

That’s why I’m taking two CompTIA certifications Linux+ and Project+.

I have installed UBUNTU on my desktop at home, dual boot with Windows Vista and I must say that I am very impressed

Check it out:

And the good news is that it’s not as nearly difficult as I thought. I was actually really surprised with the amount memory it consumes, something between 80Kb and 220Kb depending on what you are doing or using it for.

If you want to try it, you can either dual boot or just run it in Vmware. As you know there are a lot of different Linux distributions out there, but UBUNTU is very good and has a huge community and support. Their online documentation is simply great. Check their website UBUNTU
If you don’t have Vmware you can use Virtual Box for free. Yep, I love free stuff!!

Anyhow, I am a Cisco guy hehe, so I am still taking the CCIE SP this year, but for now, Linux+ and project+ to bring something new into my career.
I don’t think right now, just having routing and switching skills gets you in high paid jobs.

Just a final word, I passed my CCVP GWGK 2 weeks ago.
Happy studies!

7 Responses to “CompTIA Linux+ and Project+”

  1. Big Evil said

    Congrats on the CCVP. 🙂

    We use some Linux stuff here at my work. Its cool stuff!

    It seems more and more company’s not only want someone who has tons of hands on exp, but some design and project managament as well. As people belts tighten in, they get one man in to do the job of three.

  2. Ricardo Martins said

    You are so right! After some job interviews I had I realized that, so that’s why Im going for Linux+ and Project+

    Cheers,
    Ricardo

  3. Big Evil said

    I think as long as you have a good overview of something, you can’t go wrong. You could always learn more as you go along and as the company requires. 🙂

  4. Festina said

    I think as long as you have a good overview of something, you can't go wrong. You could always learn more as you go along and as the company requires. :); I think as long as you have a good overview of something, you can't go wrong. You could always learn more as you go along and as the company requires. :);;

  5. Raiy said

    Hi sir,

    Can we exchange the website link?
    My website: http://www.ciscobibles.com
    Title: CiscoBibles
    Description: Free Cisco Training & Resources – Certification Exam Preparation

    If you want, plz let me know.

    Thanks.

    Best Regards
    Raiy

  6. Bill said

    I recently started learning Linux at my college. It was kind of confusing at first but now I am really understanding the subject better.

  7. I have read all the above and totally agree with your post. Nice and helpful information.

Leave a Reply

 
